It’s a train wreck and I can’t look away…

We are rich and don’t know it.

I have felt so convicted of late about this. But I don’t know what to do about it. It started when I began this stay-at-home journey. How ironic. Maybe not. Sometimes you have to lose something to understand its true value. I’m not talking about my job, even though I did enjoy it. I’m talking about that extra money. Even with less to spend, I still find myself clicking through the emails to the sales sites, where an eager finger wants to fill the shopping basket and press the “pay now” button. But I swat it away like an annoying bug and close the screen.

It’s weird. I love a good sale, and I used to buy things even if I didn’t need them. GASP! Oh, the shock of it all! Yes, it was akin to retail therapy or something. I’ve come to think it is just a distraction to keep us from focusing on whatever the real problem is. 

Now that I don’t have extra money to play around with, I realize even more how much I don’t need. So the extravagent is kind of driving me a little crazy. Like Christmas overdone. It just seems…so…wasteful. Ah, but don’t get me started. I’ve got a whole other post for that just waiting to be written. 

I guess right now I’m very thankful for what I have, but I feel like there’s much left to be done. I just don’t know what that is. Yet.

One response to “It’s a train wreck and I can’t look away…

  1. I read recently that if you have a household income of 25,000+ a year, you are among the top 10 percent wealthiest in the world. Great post, friend.

Leave a Reply

