Weak in a Week

One week. One weak.

Yes, I fell off the wagon. Several times. I did try to stand strong in the face of temptation. I was most of the time. Except for date night and a couple of other social occasions. Even when people knew I what I was was trying to accomplish, I still failed. *sigh*

However, I’m not beating myself up too much. I’ve learned a lot this week, and I’m going to continue to press on. I learned a lot about what we are eating that is not quite as healthy as I had thought. We tasted a couple of really yummy recipes. And maybe I realized that we COULD do the unrefined lifestyle. We just aren’t USED to it.

Here are a couple of recipes I discovered and enjoyed. One is very strange, but the kiddos like it. It still needs some recipe tinkering, in my opinion, but the chocolate flavor is great.

Black Bean Brownies: These had a great chocolatey taste, but the texture was bizarre. It turned out more like cutable mousse than it did brownies. That troubled my tastebuds a lot, when I was expecting the chewy consistency of a brownie. I’d add some flour next time. Note: I did up the cocoa to 1/2 cup, vs 1/4 cup.

Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes: Can I just say YUM!? I wasn’t sure what these would be like, and I was sure that my hubby’s tastbuds would scream in protest. Instead, both he and my 3 year old thought they were really good. Me too. Once you drizzle some maple syrup on these things, they really do taste like banana bread! A sprinkling of pecan/walnuts would be a nice addition (in my opinion).

Today, in an effort of full disclosure was a complete disaster, regarding the pledge. I had Pizza Hut pizza and an ice cream concrete from the local creamery. I could have stopped after a a few bites of the ice cream, oddly enough. But what didn’t surprise me is that I plowed through the entire thing.

But the sun will come up tomorrow. And, tomorrow is another day to start fresh.

Leave a Reply

